SnapShots of: Pelherino-Salvador, Brazil

 Brazil: simply reminiscing Post 5  of 10 

Salvador – I took a weekend break to Buzio before heading to Salvador, therefore making

P1050397this wonderful city my 5th stop on this brazilian adventure. As I only had 3 days  here in I  decided to stay in the Old Town/historic center known as Pelherino- I had been wanting to visit this particular part of the city ever since I saw the Micheal Jackson video  – They don’t care about us, when I was a child.  I was also extremely excited to learn more about the cities rich history,  in particular the black history . As Pelherino was the first slave market on the continent, Salvador now has huge black community, and has become the countries African Brazilian cultural centre. In fact, there’s no other place in the world where descendants of African slaves have preserved their heritage as well as in Salvador – from music and religion to food, dance and martial-arts traditions.

Shortly after i checked into my hostel I met a guy called Marco, who become my travel buddie for this leg and the next leg of my travels. We also  met up time again and time again later ….we got chatting whilst i was unpacking and Marco kindly invited me to join him and his mates for drinks. After sitting on a bus for 3o hours from Rio, i was very much looking forward to some human contact and excepted his offer.  Marco introduced me to his mate John and we talked away into the we hours.  The next day Marco,  john and i set out to explore the colourful streets of Pelherino…and this is what we found.

It was like stepping back in time, walking through this partially well-preserved colonial town. Much like in the Micheal Jackson Video above,  The 17th- and 18th-century architecture plays as a backdrop to a variety of activities happening all over the city, from Capoeira circles in the town square to drum schools walking through the streets pounding out tunes. This city is alive, all day and night!

John sadly had to leave the following day, leaving myself and Marco to “bond” bless this no nonsense, straight talking italian he had me in stitches all day long! we were both going through relationship breakdowns at the time and through many conversation, on that topic we became immediate friends. We were joined by a fello traveller Julian and together began to explore the city beyond Pelherino ……

….Salvador, is a wonderful city full of culture and history! my only regret is not staying longer 😦  and ntot taking better pictuers – there is a lot more I want to see and do…but, I will return!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “SnapShots of: Pelherino-Salvador, Brazil

  1. Pingback: Celebrting Christmas & New Years In Rio! | Passports n Backpacks

Leave a Reply

