Lesson Learned: Slow down, take it in, and simply enjoy being in the moment.

It’s been a little over a month since I left London, EKK  half way already. Usually, at home a month goes pretty slow but, out here it seems to be flying by. Well i guess they say that’s what happens when you’re having fun!

If you have been following my Facebook Page then you will already know that I haven’2012-03-22-pause-buttont been to “well” over the past week.  Heat rash has gotten the better of me,  meaning my beach days have been put on pause. Actually in this incredible heat going outside during the day has pretty much been put on pause.

As I’m not traveling solo this time I couldn’t help but feel I was letting Fernando, (a.k.a my better half) down.  When I told him this he told me to stop being so silly, and that we have been so active that it’s nice to relax and slow it down.  I thought ahh bless how sweet, he doesn’t want me to feel bad but, I bet not so deep down inside he must be thinking  GASH!! feel better already 🙂

Looking back over the past days can see that he was speaking the truth.We very much-needed to stop, slow it right down and BE IN THE MOMENT, savour it , remember it, enjoy it. And that we have. We have enjoyed BEING TOGETHER Vs DOING THINGS TOGETHER, enjoying the freedom of free time,  And letting the day unfold as it will.

It’s a shame that i needed to physically be ill to slow it down. This  is something that also translates into my everyday life. If im not doing something i feel that i am wasting precious time.  But, I have realised that

 Time you Enjoy Wasting Is Not Wasted Time At All,

John Lennon

A perfect example of this was a few weeks ago when we opted to taking a 2 day bus journey from Chiang Mai to Krabi, over a 3 hour flight. initially we did this to save on the pennies, but what we got out of it was much more. We learned that still after so many years together we truly enjoy each other company, we could be together yet still have personal thinking space, we work well as a team, we unconsciously keep each other going when the other was losing moral or getting really tiered, and ultimately we had fun. Cracking so many jokes and creating memories that will last us a life time.Looking back over the past few days i can see that they have been equally if not more valuable than any of our more active days.

I’m now on the mend,  and in a day or two I’m sure I’ll be back to my old tricks, over dosing on activities in a grave attempt not to miss out, and creating non organic memories. I am who i am 🙂  However, I promise myself I will make room for Organic memories too, by slowing it down and letting some days take shape as they will. Like Ferris Bueller says:

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

 below: me literally taking the advice

cropped-bianca1.jpg

2 thoughts on “Lesson Learned: Slow down, take it in, and simply enjoy being in the moment.

Leave a Reply

